Comparing Most Popular Scrum Certificates

Find CSM and PSM courses here

Both the entry-level Professional Scrum Master (PSM I) and Certified ScrumMaster (CSM) certificates are globally recognized by recruiting agencies and employers alike. Altough CSM has been longer on the market, there are no difference in recognition.

Which certificate is most recognized: Draw

The pass rate for the PSM I assessment is approximately 80%. The pass rate for the CSM assessment is considerably higher. The CSM then is the easiest certificate to earn.

Which certificate is easier to earn: CSM

The PSM is the cheapest certificate to retain because there is no need to renew it. Once you have earned the certificate, it’s yours for life. There are no renewal requirements.

To compare, the CSM has to be renewed every two years at a price of $100. Certificate holders must also earn Scrum Education Units (SEUs) over the term to qualify for re-certification.

Which certificate costs less to earn: PSM

To sum it up there is no clear winner to which is better Scrum Certificate, it all comes down to your own preferences.

  • Both CSM and PSM Scrum certificates will serve you well
  • The cheaper Scrum certificate to gain and maintain is PSM
  • Easier and faster Scrum certificate will be CSM

You can find more info about PSM here.

You can find more info about CSM here.